PDA

View Full Version : Blender Pen information

ctinyjoy
10-14-2006, 09:45 AM
I have just read the Oct Rubberstamper magazine and on page 25 is a one page article on blender pens. I thought some of you newbies could benefit from the article. I have been using a blender pen for over 2 years, but just read that the correct way to store it is horizontally. Nobody ever told me that! I always stored it in my pencil case with the larger tip facing down so that one stayed wet :(

Basically the article states that it doesn't matter what brand you use, they all work the same way. Yes the tip will get discolored, it won't affect your future work. Make sure after you change colors that you are blending, that you rub the tip until the old color fades away and the pen is running clear. If you use a blender pen on chalks and Pearl Ex, you do not need to spray a fixative to seal it, the blending solution will do that for you.

Another thing that I learned from the article is that you are using watercolor pencils, you don't have to color in the stamped image first. I was always taught to color the image in and then go over with the blender pen to smooth it out. This article said to use a scrap piece of paper to scribble the pencils on and let the blender pen pick up the color and transfer it to the image. I will have to try this methold out later.

I hope these tips will help some of you out.

Cheri

GrammaStamper
10-14-2006, 09:56 AM
Great info, Cheri, thanks for sharing. I just got my blender pen and will have to try these tips. As for storing, I always laid it flat, but will change that now.

Barb

Lisa
10-14-2006, 10:07 AM
Great info for newbie and oldies alike! I use watercolor pencils alot and will definately try that method. Has anyone ever made their own blending pen solution? Share recipies if you have pleeeezzzze I would love to try that!
Lisa K

lost luggage
10-14-2006, 10:41 AM