PDA

View Full Version : ok, I have a medical question

ellie
05-24-2007, 09:37 AM
I found out last night that one of my sons co-workers has TB. Of course he is pretty upset and told ds that his father died of it. My question is...isn't that contagious? I am trying not to freak out but I had friends as a child who had to go and live "away" because they had it. I know that was a long time ago but I was just wondering what they do about it today.

scrappinnuts
05-24-2007, 09:47 AM
Ellie it is contagious through body secretions..like spit or coughing..the good news is ...today you can take a regamine of pills..can't remember how long you take them..but 6 months comes to mind..and if you contact it you will always test positive... but with the meds never be active..Does your son work in the Medical Field? Both my DH and I work in the Medical field..He as a Firefighter/Paramedic..and he has never tested Postitve but been exposed many, many times. Me I have also been in exposed..especially when I worked with the elderly... never tested positive. I am sure everything will be fine. If your son is in the Med field his employer should take the neccessary precautions. Hope this helps.

logcabincreations
05-24-2007, 09:51 AM
Here is a link from the American Lung Association and yes it is contagious.

http://www.lungsandiego.org/lung/adults_tuberculosis.asp

ellie
05-24-2007, 09:54 AM
He works at a video-game store...actually the dream job for a kid. He is a game advisor. He gets to bring home the latest games and play them so that he can advise the customers when they have questions! His brothers are green with envy!
Thank you for the info...my "mommy" gene started working overtime when he mentioned this.

ellie
05-24-2007, 10:23 AM
Thank you girls for the info. You know how it is....even if they are in their 20's you still want to protect them.
Jan...thank you for the link!

Christie
05-24-2007, 11:10 AM