PDA

View Full Version : iPod Help

suzi_f
06-29-2007, 07:33 PM
Dh's computer crashed while we were in CA. They (his company) gave him a new one. Now, his dvd drive will not work. He's bummed that he can't watch movies. I told him to just download what he wants to his iPod & watch thru that.

Only 1 problem w/this. If he reconnects his iPod, he lost all his info. Is there any way to retrieve this or does he have to reload all 600+ songs & videos??? Anyone know what happens to your iTunes stuff if you lose your computer??

irishchristine
06-29-2007, 07:46 PM
I think it is all erased! I am not good with ipods but my hubbys friend downloaded 250 for my son and when I hooked it up to mine they all went bye bye!

iloveflipflops
06-29-2007, 07:51 PM
The beauty of ipods!! :( Unfortunately, this happened to me and ALL of my songs were completely erased!!! It was gone.... sorry for the bad news.

suzi_f
06-29-2007, 08:20 PM
Ok, I'm sticking w/my non-ipod mp3 player!!! Of course, I'm planing on buying Becs an iPod for Christmas. Dang technology!!! Is there a way to "back up" your stuff, just in case??? Obviously, it won't help now but, for future reference?

GSMom385
06-29-2007, 08:29 PM
yes Suzi there is an export feature in ITunes if you want to use a jump drive or they have a backup to disc option also if you prefer CD. Both are under the file menu. I personally use a jump drive I find it cheaper ( mine cost me a little over $40 and I have had it forever) and easier to use because I constantly backup over and over because I have lost way too many pcs at work and I am parinoid now. If I used that many CD's I would go broke. Good Luck!! I love my ipod!!

suzi_f
06-29-2007, 08:47 PM
DH has a jump drive & I saw the import/export thing when I was messing w/his itunes. I'll let him know he has to back it up more often. Bummer. Now I can't add anything to his iPod for ME!!!

hutchink
06-29-2007, 09:25 PM
I'm not an Ipod gal...I'm a ZUNE gal! love mine!

~K

tesschap