PDA

View Full Version : Diabeties and cat food

threefriends91
08-02-2007, 05:20 AM
my friend who is on disability and lives on her own, has 2 cats thay are her baby's.the 16 year old she has found out has diabeties and was told the food she has to buy for her is called Renal L.P. which she can only buy at the vets, and her other cat is the fat man, so they put him on a diet with Purina D.M. that can only be bought at the vets as well.
she only makes 700.00 and the food for these cats cost her 350.00. so she wants to know if any of you know of any other food that she could buy which would cost less and do the same job. the poor dear has given up eating for these cats.

MyRnAbS
08-02-2007, 07:19 AM
Although I'm no expert, but I do have diabeties myself don't know if it's the same thing. I ran a search and found this really helpful site but let me paste this little faq:
Q: My cat doesn't like / I can't afford the expensive prescription food. Is there any less expensive substitute?
Yes, the good news is that any low-carbohydrate canned or pouched food can be used successfully to manage and cure the feline diabetic. Some good brands include Fancy Feast, Whiskas, Nutro Kitten, ProPlan kitten, even Friskies and Nine Lives (never feed any cat an “adult” or “senior” formula. These older cat formulas are packed with carbohydrate!)

and here is the website HTH:
http://yourdiabeticcat.com/faq.html

GrammaStamper
08-02-2007, 08:54 AM
Myran, thanks for helping out this Shackie. I would never have known where to look for something like this. You did her friend a great service today. Bless you.

MyRnAbS
08-02-2007, 08:57 AM
Why you are most welcomed Barb! I'm here to help as much as I possibly can. I feel it's not enough though. Perhaps by sending her some gift cards that would make me feel better? But I need more info!

ellie
08-02-2007, 09:36 AM
Myrna...you are always such a blessing.

threefriends91
08-02-2007, 01:10 PM