PDA

View Full Version : watercolor markers - suggestions please

kimmyqtgirl
05-28-2008, 01:45 AM
I got a set of watercolor markers from my ss and I am very excited to try them. I have never used watercolor markers before so does anyone have any beginner tips they would like to share? I know I need some watercolor paper right? I was planning on getting some with a coupon this weekend.

Thanks for any help. I am so excited to play with them.

Artyfarty
05-28-2008, 02:08 AM
My top tip for using any watercolouring medium is to grab a spare plastic lid and using your colour pencil/marker scribble on the lid and then take your brush to the scribbled area and pick the colour up that way. I dont tend to colour straight onto the image cos i find if you use too much then you can overwater the image too much trying to soften it down. . Plus using the lid you actually use less and therefore save more lol If you do tend to find too much water then dab onto a tissue or kitchen towel to rid of excess liquid.

kimmyqtgirl
05-28-2008, 02:36 AM
I didn't even think of picking up the color! Thank you for the tip. It's so nice to have so much experience on the shack. Someone always can give a few tips. :)

Far North
05-28-2008, 03:36 AM
Hero Arts blog recently had one of fav marker techniques on a u tube tutorial (http://heroarts.com/blogs/club/2008/05/21/watch-the-flowers-bloom-wednesday/). You can use regular paper or watercolor paper but will need a little mister. M's sells little tube misters in the section above their inks.

Most of the watercoloring that I do is for cards so I generally buy the small tablets of paper that has a little texture to it.

Hero Arts also has a whole technique section on their website...there are many different techniques that you can enjoy with you color pens...take a look a the ink and color section. (http://www.heroarts.com/learning/)

You are gonna have so much fun with your pens!!! Let us know if you have any specific questions.
...Jan