PDA

View Full Version : I may be forced to accept a "promotion" :-(

directmailscrapper
12-16-2008, 11:42 PM
Sounds funny, doesn't it?

I am a consultant/sales rep. I've been at my company for 19-1/2 years and have always been one of the top reps. I earn straight commission -- no salary. I've done very, very well -- some years better than others, of course!

The company I work for is a $50 million dollar company, employs 400 people and is family owned (2 families). The primary owner (Bruce) theoretically retired several years ago. Which left him plenty of time to micro-manage us. Now he is trying to really retire and set the company up for his almost 30-year old son to step in at a senior management level (this is not a surprise, and the kid has potential, just no experience).

The two owners and the President had lunch with me and another senior rep today. Bruce wants the 2 of us to step down from our sales positions and take mid-management positions. MID management. (We both have the experience and training for Senior management, but we are already top heavy in my opinion) The reason for this? He has a ton of stuff on his agenda that he hasn't been able to get done -- and he is "toast". He wants to winter in Florida and relax and he needs someone to rewrite all of our training materials, hire and train new staff, review the 18 sales reps, prepare marketing materials and write copy and more. Of course we already have two Vice Presidents of Sales -- so I'm not quite sure how they will like this idea (they have no clue). And I'd report to one of them (even though I'd be taking much of their management responsibility from them)!