PDA

View Full Version : Mom turns 80 years old.

inkinupstamps
12-29-2006, 05:56 PM
Ladies, I've never done this before and if you don't think it is appropriate, that is fine. Here is the story:

My mother turns 80 years old on February 11th. Mom is really a very active woman and considering her spinal surgery and all she's been through these past years she is in good health. HELLO! I don't do nearly all of the activities she does.

HOWEVER...and this is the big however...mom is very sad about turning 80. This past year my Mom has lost her very best friend whom she's been pals with since she was in Kindergarten. MANY other of her friends have been or are dying. My father (who was 7 years older than my mother) died right before his 80th birthday.

All this to say that Mom feels, in her words, ANCIENT. She's outlived her beloved husband, best friends and isn't looking forward to the big 80!

So...how would anyone feel about sending my mother, whom I realize you don't know from Adam or Eve, a birthday card? Mom is fascinated by my involvement with card swaps and all of you wonderful ladies. Is this an imposition or inappropriate to ask if you WANT TO (KEY: ONLY if you want to) send mom a happy 80th birthday card?

I'm asking now because it is a little over a month before her birthday. I'm a bit self concious about asking this. If you want to celebrate her birthday, I'll send you her address.