PDA

View Full Version : I have a question about graduation ...

iloveflipflops
05-20-2009, 06:16 AM
I don't want anyone to take this the wrong way but ... when you get a graduation announcement from someone, say a friend of yours but you have never met the one graduating ... do you feel like you should send a graduation present? I got an announcement yesterday from a pen pal of mine in Texas who I have never met. We've been emailing back and forth for about 8 years and I only hear from her once every few months now.

I don't know if I should send her dd money or just a card?

And ... I will be in this situation next year with Emily. I would love to send out graduation announcements but I do not want people to feel obligated to send her money. How can I tactfully write that in the announcement or do I say anything at all?

emmcee
05-20-2009, 06:31 AM
I don't know the correct answer, Sherri. When Laura graduated from HS and I graduated from Catawba, I sent out announcements to everybody, but I wasn't expecting any gifts for either of us, I just wanted people to know what was going on in our lives. I've received about 4 announcements this year, but not every one will get a gift. I can't afford it. I would probably just send this girl one of your beautiful cards and write a little note congratulating her. I guess this was a long paragraph to tell you that!

shadoob
05-20-2009, 07:14 AM
I'm with Michelle. This particular girl gets a card and a note. When my kiddos graduated, we just sent an announcement and a short note saying hi and that we just wanted to share...
I did institute a "policy" of what I sent to others though.
I send just a card to some folks, a certain amt to friends' kids, something else to my kids' friends, then another amount to nieces/nephews....that way I kept it consistent from year to year. You are entereing an exciting period of your kids' lives!

maxiesmom
05-20-2009, 08:00 AM