PDA

View Full Version : Prismacolor advice...

Deborah
01-27-2007, 09:32 AM
Okay artistes! After seeing your wonderful colouring in the gallery, I'm ready to invest in a set of Prismacolour Pencils, and to invest in the time to learn to use them. I have a question, are the Prismacolours y'all have been using "ordinary" pencils, or are they the watercolours? Any other advice appreciated before I buy!

Thanks!

teabear
01-27-2007, 09:40 AM
Hi Deborah,
I'm with you. I don't have any yet, but know now that I need some after all the fantastic artwork in the gallery. They use regular prismas, not watercolors.
Tami

dgbearsmom
01-27-2007, 09:41 AM
Hi Deborah. I am by no means an Prisma expert, but here's what I know. They are not watercolor pencils. They are a wax-based colored pencil. I think they are wax-based anyway. I could be wrong about that and someone can correct me if I am. Many people find that they blend very nicely on their own. Some like to use gamsol with a blending stump to blend them. I actually use my SU blender pens with them and like that. I just don't have any Gamsol, so I haven't tried that yet. Debbie S. (1of2shoes) does beautiful work with Prismas and can probably give you some great advice. One thing she told me was that they work best if you color with them on a paper that has a bit of texture to it. Not watercolor paper - that's too rough. I have used Bristol Vellum and she uses some paper she gets at her LSS, but I don't know the brand or type.

HTH
Judy

Vintagegal
01-27-2007, 10:12 AM
No....Judy, you're right. Prismas are waxed based. When you use it with gamsol (or oderless mineral spirits) the gamsol breaks down the wax.... thereby allowing you to "blend" or "move" the colors. But, of course, you can use the Prismas without having to use gamsol.