PDA

View Full Version : Embossing paste questions

inkinupstamps
03-02-2007, 01:15 PM
Ladies who have used embossing paste with success, can you give me some tips, help and suggestions, please? I've been studying sites on the internet and the directions with the paste so I have a basic idea, but only so much paste.

My paste is plain, matte finish. Did you use colour before or after or mixed with your paste?

Also, one of the templates I want to use is highly detailed and the details are not necessarily in the arrangement of what the finished card will look like. I'm assuming that you have to paste and dry in sections. But then, won't you have a big lump to paste over and the stencil won't dry flat?

Anything that you can think of for tips would be great. I love dry embossing and heat embossing and this is my first time with paste.

Thanks so much if you can give advice! :)

Jennifer

teabear
03-02-2007, 01:43 PM
I know Jan has done this successfully. I'll be watching for tips, too. Sorry I haven't tried it yet. Can't wait to see what you come up with in the lab.

Far North
03-02-2007, 02:45 PM
Oh what fun Jennifer, it sounds like you are jumping into a new project. I love playing with embossing paste! It is like icing a cake! The stencil provides for a small amount of dimension and then you can play with making a little texture on the surface.

My experiece is to definately color before laying the paste into the stencil-the dimension makes it difficult to color the paste's edges afterwards without flowing onto the background paper.

The stencil must be flat against the paper to make it work.

The paste goes a long ways because you use so little at a time...but you might want to start with a simple 1-2" sample-you can make colors and store them in a container (I recycled a butter tub).