PDA

View Full Version : Help with inks and inkpads

Jadyeebugsaunt
11-01-2006, 03:35 PM
Ok ladies,
I have been stamping for 6 years but when it come to the different kinds of ink I'm a dummy. I have SU and CTMH pads and versamark , stazon, and I just picked up versafine for sherry's stamp, I have colorbox chalks but Ihardly ever use them . If you can explain what the different inks are for and how to use them . I would really apprieciate because I would love to ink up on my stamping skills and knowledge.
TIA,
Mindy

lost luggage
11-01-2006, 03:36 PM
I can't even remember what CTMH stands for...I am looking forward to reading the responses to your question. :)

Jadyeebugsaunt
11-01-2006, 03:38 PM
I can't even remember what CTMH stands for...I am looking forward to reading the responses to your question. :)
CTMH stamnds for close to my heart the stamp company.
Mindy

mcourtney
11-01-2006, 03:54 PM
Here's a site that will give you the basics.

http://www.artwithoutanxiety.com/inkinfo.html

HTH

Erin K
11-01-2006, 04:04 PM
Ok, I'm sure someone much clever than me is gonna come along with a website that is much better than me, but I'll give it a whirl. If I say anything wrong just correct me it won't hurt my feelings:

CMTH and SU inks are both dye based inks, they dry fast and are great for general stamping although they cannot be embossed on. I believe I've heard that CMTH's fomula works a bit better with the clear stamps.
** you CAN use your dye inks to emboss with this tip, take your versamark ink or other embossing ink and ink your stamp up, then ink it right on top with your favorite color of dye ink and stamp, you will basicly have two layers of ink, one that is a color of your choice and one that is clear and will hold your powder. I've done it bunches and it doesn't seem to hurt my inkpads at all.