PDA

View Full Version : being a new stamper

justbusyscrappin
11-09-2006, 09:10 AM
I would like to start expanding my horizons. Thus far all I have done is stamp an image and color in with colored pencils or chalk. I would like to try embossing and am a bit frightened at what the final results will be ... probably all clumpy and ugly.
All of you experienced stampers what should I do ... the steps for embossing and then what should I use to color the images? have a feeling that colored pencils are just not good enough for an embossed image!
thanks for the assistance

becky

iloveflipflops
11-09-2006, 09:11 AM
Even though I have been stamping for about 5 years, I have only tried embossing once and it was a DISEASER with a capital D so i am very afraid of embossing powder being blown all over the place with my heat gun. ha ha

So you & I can try this together :).

laos348
11-09-2006, 09:25 AM
I haven't embossed in a while but you can get some lovely images that way. One thing I learned tha hard way - once you pour your powder on, you have time. Put the excess powder back into the jar/container before you use the heat gun otherwise powder will fly everywhere! (Ask me how I know :p )
I also usually use the eraser end of a pencil to hold the corner of the cardstock when blowing so my paper does blow all around the table.

To color in, you can use markers, pick up color with a blender pen or aqua pen or what really looks pretty is twinkling H2O's.

Laura

mahodgman
11-09-2006, 09:54 AM