+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Okay...prismacolours and gamsol...

Okay...prismacolours and gamsol...

So after seeing the amazing colouring on this site, I took the leap and bought oodles of Prismacolour pencils and gamsol. Now....blending...I bought these things called "Blending Tortillons" by Loew-Cornell. They're sort of rolled paper thingies. My question: once the tortillon thing gets messy, do I just sort of unroll the wound paper to get a clean spot? I have blending stumps too...same question...what do I do once the end gets too many colours on it...looks messy...do you sand it off...sharpen it...what?? Can you tell I've never used thee things before??

Thanks for any advice!

Deborah.
    ~Deborah

lost luggage Guest View Member Photos
    Hi Deborah- I have a sanding stump thing that I rub the blending stump onto. It cleans off the color and semi sharpens it back up.

michelle328 Guest View Member Photos
    Yep, you can find a little gizmo in the aisle with the stumps/tortillions. It sorta looks like a paint brush handle and has a stack of oh about 1"x2" sand paper. You just rub the tip over the sandpaper till all the gunk is gone. When the sandpaper gets gucked up, just tear it off and use the next one.

HTH
    Michelle

Aaaahhhh! Thanks!
    ~Deborah

deborah, if you have a fingernail file that you're not using, it works fine too. Just trying to save you a little dough.

Rhiana

Even better! You'd think I'd know that 'eh?
    ~Deborah

aselahop Guest View Member Photos
    Hi Deborah,
    I love my Prismacolor pencils and use odorless thinner instead of Gamsol.

What I do with my paper stumps is have one for each color family I use. So I actually never sharpen mine. I don't want the edges to to rough and unravel.(it doesn't take a lot of pressure to move the pigment around on the paper if you are using Prismacolor pencils to color your image.)